Aberystwyth library

Brief description

Described as being in the Edwardian classical style, the building was designed by Walter G Payton of London. The foundation stone was laid on 28 July 1905 by David Davies of Llandinam (the founder of Barry Docks). The main contractor was Messrs Edwards Bros of Trefechan.

Awarded Grade II listing in 1987

Current status: Closed in 2012, and since 2016, when it was sold, there have been ongoing plans for redevelopment, but no work has yet taken place [2019].

  • Year grant given: 1903
  • Amount of grant: £3,000
  • Year opened (and by who): April 1906 by Mrs Vaughan Davies of Tanybwlch, the wife of local MP Matthew Lewis Vaughan Davies.

Photo of library today (2019):

Thanks to geograph user Colin Cheesman (published under cc licence)

Details

Although I didn’t take any photos, I have found this one on flickr, which shows the lovely art nouveau tiles.

flickr user: Emily. Published under cc licence

Old photo of library (postcard):

Nothing in my collection yet

Visited?

Many times, when I was a student. But as far as I know, I didn’t take a single photo!

Web links:

2 thoughts on “Aberystwyth library”

Leave a comment