Bideford library

Brief description

The library was designed by Alfred Dunn, of Birmingham, and built by H Glover and Son, of Bideford. The library is a single storied building, next to the town hall – the rear part of which had been built in 1850. Two years after the library opened, a museum was added, although that later moved out.

Awarded Grade II listing in 1973.

Current status: Still open as a public library, run by Libraries Unlimited on behalf of Devon county council. (2016)

  • Year grant given (if known):
  • Amount of grant:
  • Year opened: 7 February 1906 by Mr C.S. Carnegie from Northam, a relative of Andrew Carnegie.

Photo of library today (2010):

4898730946_99137e0100_z

Details:

bideford-plaque-2010

Old photo of library (postcard):

bideford

Visited:

Yes, we visited this library, during a holiday in Devon in 2010.

Web links:

1 thought on “Bideford library”

  1. I was walking down the path from St Mary,s church when I noticed I am sure a plaque or engraving of the square and compass , withe initials RG above .
    I have taken a photograph on my I pad so I will have to wait until I get home
    I presume if my picture is correct the initials must be to Robert Grenville ,I wonder.
    I have sent a e mail to Devonshire Provincial Grand Lodge asking if they can help, but I have not heard ant Bing as yet.
    Perhaps you can help.
    w e roberts

    Like

Leave a Reply

